MenĂ¼Close

Art as Social Practice

Art as Social Practice is a programme for artists of all disciplines who want to situate and expand their practice within social fields. How can artistic practices connect with the concerns of cultural, socio-cultural and political education and their existing pedagogical and systemic dimensions? How can we generate and weave alternative knowledge in collective artistic processes?

The programme invites participants to discuss the hopes and challenges of artistic processes in social practices together with other practitioners and guest lecturers, and to imagine future forms of working and relating across different groups of knowledge.

Infos

Participation and Collaboration as Political Processes

Art as social practice takes place in a variety of constellations and moves within different political and social contexts and their specific conditions. Exemplary fields of work are collaborations with schools and daycare centres, neighbourhood work, artistic work with different age and interest groups, actionist interventions in public space and many more. Initiating and moderating participation and collaboration as artistic processes in these different contexts requires not only a high degree of sensitivity and interprofessional understanding from artists, but also a great deal of inventiveness in order to encounter different settings and groups of knowledge.

Contents and Objectives

The programme invites artists who already have some initial experience working artistically in social fields or cultural education. In the framework of four dialogue-oriented modules, the programme offers the opportunity to learn from and with guest lecturers from different contexts of cultural, socio-cultural and socio-political work and to exchange ideas about their own practices and disciplines. In addition to studying transferable skills and teaching tools and strategies, the programme aims to stimulate exchange and networking between arts practitioners and (para-)institutional structure and to create a platform for collaboration. As a complement to an artistic Master's degree or an artistic practice recognised as equivalent, Art as Social Practice imparts knowledge and (self-)awareness to enable artists to cooperate on an equal footing and responsibly with actors and institutions of societal and social contexts as well as within fields of cultural education.

Art as Social Practice is being initiated and supported by Crespo Foundation and offered by the Hessian Theatre Academy and the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts in dialogue with the Hessian art academies and is aimed at artists of all disciplines. In distinction to a formal degree, the programme serves as a platform for exchange and networking in an experimental sense, enabling free discourse with experts and colleagues and equipping artists with more self-confidence and ability to act in cooperation with educational and art institutions.

Schedule

Art as Social Practice will begin its second round in October 2024. Between October 2024 and March 2025 participants will meet in the context of four modules lasting several days (see below for dates) at various locations in Frankfurt, Hesse and the surrounding area. Suitable accommodation will be provided and travel expenses will be reimbursed as part of a lump sum. Between the modules there will be a series of online workshops.

Modules

Dates:

MODULE 1: LISTENING
24. - 27.10.2024 / GEBHARDSHÜTTE, ODENWALD

MODULE 2: COMMUNITIES OF SUPPORT / RADICAL PEDAGOGIES
20 - 24.11.2024 / FRANKFURT AM MAIN

MODULE 3: STRATEGIES AND METHODOLOGIES
11 - 17.01.2025 / PERFORMING ARTS FORUM ST. ERME, FRANCE

MODULE 4: SOCIAL IMAGINARIES
26 - 30.03.2025 / FRANKFURT AM MAIN

The dates for the online workshops will be announced later.

 

You can download last year's 23/24 curriculum here.

Application

Admission requirements

Application

To participate, please apply until 12th June 2024 with the following documents:

The application can be submitted in writing (as one pdf document) or as an audio or video message. If you are submitting videos or audios, upload them to Vimeo, YouTube or SoundCloud and send us the respective links. Please send your application documents to kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de.

 

We offer two Infosessions on Zoom:

On 13th of May at 11am and 3rd of June at 5pm

Link sent on request (kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de)

Accessibility

If required, suitable accommodation will be provided for overnight stays during the modules; meals will be provided during the module days. Travel costs to attend the modules will be reimbursed. The programme will take place in German and English spoken language as agreed. Sign language interpreters can be organized if required. Unfortunately, the Gebhardshütte is not wheelchair accessible. All venues have all-gender toilets. Participants are welcome to bring their children to the modules. Unlearning ableist and discriminatory structures is part of the curriculum; nevertheless, the programme still acts in a world that continues to dis-able. We rely on feedback to break down existing barriers. If you need assistance or support, or have questions about or feedback on accessibility, please be in touch via kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de.

Team / Contact

Frida Laux, MA in Choreography and Performance, works as artist, educator and curator in the field of social practice. Through transdisciplinary and process-based collaborations, she engages with art as a collective and (con)textual practice that explores how we relate as a wider ecology of knowledge. She has worked on accessibility and accountability as relational and generative practices and engages in the co-organization of the Performing Arts Forum in St Erme (France). Her collaborative works have been invited and shown at festivals and venues such as Künstler*innenhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt, Teatro Il Lavatoio Santarcangelo, Queer Zagreb Festival, MOT Festival Skopje, Act Festival Bulgaria, Hessische Theatertage and Festival Implantieren Frankfurt. Since 2023, she has headed the Art as Social Practice program at the HfMDK Frankfurt, which brings together artists who are involved in social contexts.  Forthcoming is the publication Access and Exhaustion, exploring practices and perspectives that seek to expand the concept of accessibility in art and beyond.

E: frida.laux_at_hfmdk-frankfurt.de

 

Janka Visky studied political science, discourse and ideology analysis and social and cultural anthropology at Babes-Bolyai University Cluj-Napoca, University of Essex and Goethe University Frankfurt. She is interested in how the aesthetics of participatory theatre can contribute to democratic processes and currently she is writing her master's thesis based on the case study of Kerekasztal Theatre in Education Company, Budapest. She workst as project assistant at Art as Social Practice. 

E: janka.visky_at_hfmdk-frankfurt.de

 

For general inquiries and questions, please mail to kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de

 

Instagram

Participants

Participants of the 2023/24 cohort

Setareh Alipour, Larissa Bertonasco, Anne-Sophie Brunhold, Nina deLudemann, Gregor Glogowski, Saskia Henning von Lange, Sonja Drolma Herrmann, Haytham Hmeidan, Lara Jakobi, Donata Koschel, Jule Kriesel, Naho Matsuda, Ira Melkonyan, Ana Clara Montenegro, Lisa Peil, Colette Utama Sarjano McDonald, Marc Szpuner, Tristan Marie Trotz and Azad Yesilmen

MenüClose

Kunst als soziale Praxis

Kunst als soziale Praxis ist ein Programm für Künstler:innen aller Disziplinen die ihre Praxis in sozialen Feldern verorten und erweitern wollen. Wie kann sich künstlerische Praxis mit den Anliegen kultureller, soziokultureller und politischer Bildung und ihren vorhandenen pädagogischen und systemischen Dimensionen verbinden? Wie können wir in kollektiven künstlerischen Prozessen alternatives Wissen generieren und verweben?

Das Programm lädt die Teilnehmer:innen im Rahmen von vier mehrtägigen Modulen ein, gemeinsam mit weiteren Praktiker:innen und Gastdozent:innen die Chancen und Herausforderungen künstlerischer Prozesse in der sozialen Praxis zu diskutieren und die eigenen Arbeits- und Beziehungsformen mit unterschiedlichen Wissensgruppen zu befragen und weiterzuentwickeln.

Informationen

Partizipation & Zusammenarbeit als politische Prozesse

Kunst als soziale Praxis findet in einer Vielzahl von Konstellationen statt und bewegt sich in unterschiedlichen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Kontexten und deren spezifischen Bedingungen. Beispielhafte Arbeitsfelder sind Kooperationen mit Schule und Kita, die Nachbarschaftsarbeit, die künstlerische Arbeit mit unterschiedlichen Alters- und Interessengruppen, aktionistische Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum und viele mehr. Partizipation und Kollaboration als künstlerische Prozesse in unterschiedlichen Kontexten zu initiieren und zu moderieren erfordert von Künstler:innen nicht nur ein hohes Maß an Sensibilität und interprofessionellem Verständnis, sondern auch sehr viel Erfindungsreichtum, um den unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen und Settings zu begegnen.

Inhalte & Zielsetzung

Kunst als soziale Praxis richtet sich an Künstler:innen, die über erste Erfahrungen in der künstlerischen Arbeit in sozialen Feldern oder der kulturellen Bildung verfügen. Im Rahmen von vier dialogorientierten Modulen bietet das Programm die Möglichkeit, von und mit Gastdozent:innen aus unterschiedlichen Kontexten kultureller, soziokultureller und soziopolitischer Arbeit zu lernen und sich gemeinsam über die eigenen Praktiken und Disziplinen auszutauschen. Neben dem Studium übertragbarer Fähigkeiten sowie der Vermittlung von Werkzeugen und Strategien, sollen der Austausch und die Vernetzung zwischen Kunstschaffenden und (para-)institutionellen Strukturen angeregt und eine Plattform für die Zusammenarbeit geschaffen werden. Als Ergänzung zu einem künstlerischen Master-Abschluss oder einer als gleichwertig anerkannten künstlerischen Praxis vermittelt Kunst als soziale Praxis Wissen und (Selbst-)Bewusstsein, um Künstler:innen in die Lage zu versetzen, gleichberechtigt und verantwortungsvoll mit Akteur:innen und Institutionen gesellschaftlicher und sozialer Kontexte sowie innerhalb der kulturellen Bildung zu kooperieren.

Initiiert und gefördert durch die Crespo Foundation wird Kunst als soziale Praxis von der Hessischen Theaterakademie und der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt in Vernetzung mit den hessischen Kunsthochschulen angeboten und richtet sich an Künstler:innen aller Disziplinen. In Abgrenzung zu einem Studiengang versteht sich das Programm als Plattform zum Austausch und zur Vernetzung in einem experimentellen Sinne, der einen freien Diskurs mit Expert:innen und Kolleg:innen ermöglicht und Künstler:innen mit mehr Selbstbewusstsein und Handlungsfähigkeit in der Zusammenarbeit mit Bildungs- und Kunstinstitutionen ausstattet.

Zeitplan

Kunst als soziale Praxis beginnt im zweiten Durchlauf im Oktober 2024. Zwischen Oktober 2024 und März 2025 treffen sich die Teilnehmenden im Rahmen von vier mehrtägigen Modulen (Termine siehe unten) an verschiedenen Orten in Frankfurt, Hessen und Umgebung. Eine geeignete Unterkunft wird zur Verfügung gestellt und die Reisekosten werden im Rahmen einer Pauschale rückerstattet. Zwischen den Modulen finden eine Reihe von Online Seminaren statt.

Module

MODUL 1: LISTENING

24.–27. Oktober 2024, Gebhardshütte (Odenwald)

 

MODUL 2: COMMUNITIES OF SUPPORT / RADIKALE PÄDAGOGIKEN

20.–24. November 2024, Frankfurt am Main

 

MODUL 3: STRATEGIEN UND METHODOLOGIEN

11.–17. Januar 2025, Performing Arts Forum, Frankreich

 

MODUL 4: SOCIAL IMAGINARIES

26.–30. März 2025, Frankfurt am Main

 

Die Termine für die Zwischenmodule werden noch bekannt gegeben.

 

Den Modulplan 23/24 können Sie hier herunterladen.

Bewerbung

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Bewerbung

Zur Teilnahme bewerben Sie sich bitte zum 12. Juni 2024 mit folgenden Dokumenten:

Die Bewerbung kann schriftlich (als ein zusammenhängendes pdf-Dokument) oder als Audio- oder Videonachricht erfolgen. Sollten Sie Videos oder Audios einreichen, laden Sie sie auf Vimeo oder YouTube bzw. SoundCloud hoch und schicken Sie uns die jeweiligen Links. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen an kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de.

 

Für Interessierte bieten wir zwei Infosessions an:

Am 13. Mai um 11 Uhr sowie am 3. Juni um 17 Uhr

Link jeweils auf Anfrage (kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de)

Zugänglichkeit

Soweit erforderlich, wird eine angemessene Unterkunft zur Verfügung gestellt und die Reisekosten für die Teilnahme an den Modulen werden erstattet. Das Programm wird nach Absprache in deutscher und englischer Sprache abgehalten. Nicht alle Veranstaltungsorte sind vollständig rollstuhlgerecht, aber Änderungen der Orte und Pläne sind möglich. Wir bieten bei Bedarf Unterstützung bei der Kinderbetreuung an. Das Verlernen von ableistischen und diskriminierenden Strukturen ist Teil des Lehrplans; das Programm findet jedoch in einer Welt statt, die nach wie vor behindernd ist, und wir sind auf Rückmeldungen angewiesen, um bestehende Barrieren abzubauen. Wenn Sie Hilfe oder Unterstützung benötigen, Fragen zur Barrierefreiheit haben oder uns ein Feedback geben möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

Team/ Kontakt

Frida Laux, MA in Choreografie und Performance, arbeitet als Künstlerin, Pädagogin und Kuratorin im Bereich der sozialen Praxis. Durch transdisziplinäre und prozessbasierte Zusammenarbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit Kunst als kollektiver und (kon)textueller Praxis, die untersucht wie wir als eine weitere Ökologie des Wissens in Beziehung treten. Sie arbeitete zu Zugänglichkeit und Verantwortbarkeit als relationale und generative Praktiken und ist an der Ko-organisation des Performing Arts Forum in St. Erme (Frankreich) beteiligt. Ihre kollaborativen Arbeiten wurden zu Festivals und Veranstaltungsorten wie dem Künstler*innenhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt, dem Teatro Il Lavatoio Santarcangelo, dem Queer Zagreb Festival, dem MOT Festival Skopje, dem Act Festival Bulgaria, den Hessischen Theatertagen und dem Festival Implantieren Frankfurt eingeladen und gezeigt. Seit 2023 leitet sie das Programm Kunst als soziale Praxis an der HfMDK Frankfurt, das Künstlerinnen und Künstler zusammenbringt, die sich in sozialen Kontexten engagieren. Demnächst erscheint die Publikation Access and Exhaustion zu Praktiken und Perspektiven, die versuchen, den Begriff der Zugänglichkeit in der Kunst und darüber hinaus zu erweitern.

E: frida.laux_at_hfmdk-frankfurt.de

 

Janka Visky studierte Politikwissenschaft, Diskurs- und Ideologieanalyse sowie Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie an der Babes-Bolyai-Universität Cluj-Napoca, der University of Essex und der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie die Ästhetik des partizipatorischen Theaters zu demokratischen Prozessen beitragen kann. Derzeit schreibt sie ihre Masterarbeit, die auf der Fallstudie des Kerekasztal Theatre in Education Company, Budapest basiert. Sie arbeitet als Projektassistentin bei Kunst als soziale Praxis. 

E: janka.visky_at_hfmdk-frankfurt.de

 

Allgemeine Anfragen bitte an kasp_at_orga.hfmdk-frankfurt.de

oder unter T: 069.154007-573

Instagram